ThumbsPlus 8 Beta 5

ThumbsPlus 8 Beta 5.

I received an email message from Cerious Software today saying that the Beta 5 release is now available for download.

The message said

The major infrastructure changes are complete and I should be able to finish the remaining changes and fixes fairly quickly.

I wish Cerious success. I expect they had to do some major re-architecting of the software to support the new features but it has taken them a long, long time.

I may well upgrade to see what they have done, but I doubt it will persuade me to abandon Lightroom now I have made the switch. For one thing I have 28,000 and rising images in Lightroom I’d have to bring back to Thumbs Plus. Maybe their XMP support would make that easy. But from what I have read the XMP spec is a mess and it’s highly doubtful a cross-platform migration would DWIM (Do What I Mean.)

Note they say they now support the SQLite 3 database. Maybe that will allow them to support the Mac. That must be a big opportunity for them.

5 Responses to “ThumbsPlus 8 Beta 5”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    They announced Beta 6 on August 29th with the same explanations for why it is taking so long.

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I received an email today from Cerious Software saying they are extending the trial period for Beta 6 as they still have issues to resolve. You have to download a patch from their web site to stop it from expiring.

  3. BKKPhotographer Says:

    They are now on Beta 8 of Version 8. They say it will be available VERY SOON.

    Cerious Software must have some big problems. I feel for them.

  4. ThumbsPlus 8 Available at Last « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] ThumbsPlus 8 Available at Last By bkkphotographer I received the official email notification from Cerious Software this morning. They must have been working over the Christmas / New Year break to release it. The Version 8 Release Notes are here. I discussed their long Beta process (8 releases) here. […]

  5. BKKPhotographer Says:

    ThumbsPlus 8 is finally available. Cerious announced it on January 2, 2010. See https://bkkphotographer.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/thumbsplus-8-available-at-last/

Leave a Reply

