Sad Really

I have been sending Flickr-mail to friends with whom I’ve been corresponding telling them about my new blog. Today I received a message from a friend in China who said:

Great thanks for your invitation, but I think I have met some problem. My country always put a variety of bans on exotic websites and I am concerned that the link you sent me is among the banned one. Very sorry for being not able to enjoy your blog!

I very much doubt this blog could be objectionable to the authorities in China but his caution is understandable given the attention being given to the internet in China. Perhaps my comments on “green dam” could be considered dangerous. But from what I have read in the western press, it’s much discussed in China too.

My friend’s caution makes me remember how fortunate I am not to have to worry about this kind of thing.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

