Royal Thai Army Sikorsky UH-60 Blackhawk

Royal Thai Army Sikorsky UH-60 Blackhawk

Originally uploaded by Ian Fuller

Overflying my apartment in Bangkok. I see many helicopters from the Royal Thai Army and Royal Thai Police. Occasionally an Air Force model flies by. There are a few civilian-registered machines but not many. The Crown Prince has a Bell 212 that I see occasionally.

When I first moved here in 2006 I was excited every time a helicopter flew by. Now I am quite blase about them. Fortunately the have never disturbed my sleep.

Rarely does an airliner overfly the apartment. I am not on the flight path for either Bangkok airport.

This Blackhawk looks menacing in its dark colour scheme. I can see where the “black helicopters” myth comes from. I wonder if it was part of the design brief for the Blackhawk to make it look intimidating.

Lazily, I used the “action mode” on the camera. A slower shutter speed would have given more of a sense of motion by blurring the rotor blades.

Leave a Reply

