Royal Thai Army Bell 212

Royal Thai Army Bell 212

Originally uploaded by Ian Fuller

Just as I finished the last entry I heard the distinctive clatter of Huey rotor blades – straight out of MASH. This Royal Thai Army Bell 212 Twin Huey flew right over the apartment. So of course blase me grabbed my camera and took a couple of shots.

I shot this at 1/250 seconds, 200ASA and the image has a much better sense of motion. I like the clouds today.

The RTA also has some Bell 412s. They have a four-blade main rotor. I am not enough of an aeronautical engineer to know what that does for the helicopter’s performance assuming the same engine. Why not six or eight blades?

Leave a Reply

