Quick Comparison – Digital Zoom

My Nikon Coolpix P6000 has a ‘digital zoom’ feature. I think it claims to be equivalent to 480mm on a full frame camera. I thought I would compare a shot of the top of one of the buildings visible from the apartment. This is the new Bangkok City Hall. It looks like it is nearing completion after many years. The project was suspended for a long time. I think it will be the second tallest building in Bangkok.

I compared the shot with one I took using my Canon EOS-300D and its Canon EF 75-300mm f4-5.6 lens. It is a cheap lens but I am sure it is very popular.

You can judge the results for yourself.

Digital Zoom

Digital Zoom

Optical Zoom

Optical Zoom

This is only a quick test and I didn’t take trouble to ensure the results are truly comparable between two very different cameras. That ‘experimental design’ is hard! I salute the people at sites like dpreview.com who have invested years into making truly comparable tests of cameras and lenses.

Leave a Reply

