Evening at Bangkok Railway Station (Hua Lamphong)

Hua Lamphong Station

Originally uploaded by Ian Fuller

This evening I spent an hour wandering around Hua Lamphong Station. I know that’s a strange thing to do on a Saturday night in Bangkok. What can I say?

It reminds me of London railway stations when I was a kid. Anyone can wander round anywhere with no concerns. Everyone is friendly and accomodating. Some guidebooks warn about pickpockets but I have never had a problem – touch wood.

There are many trains that leave Bangkok in the evning and travel overnight to their destinations. I documented the departure of one pof them on Flickr – the 20:55 to Phitsanlouk. It’s called a “rapid train” but that is a relative term here.

See http://www.flickr.com/photos/ianfuller/sets/72157619236799293/ and the Flickr group I started –  State Railway of Thailand – การรถไฟแห่งป.

I played around with this image of the front of Hua Lamphong Statin for ages to try and get it loooking as I remember it. I finally decided it looks better in B&W with some enhanced contrast. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

