It’s On Auto!

I had some free time this afternoon so I took the Skytrain to Victory Monument. It’s a great place for the two types of photography I enjoy most: people (okay, pretty Thai girls) and vehicles.

A tourist approached me and asked me to take his picture with the Victory Monument in the background. I obliged and we looked at the result. There was a lot of backlight and I suggested we do another shot with the flash on to provide some fill light.

“Oh no!” he said, “it’s on auto!”

He didn’t trust his eyes and thought that his camera knew best. If the shot had needed flash the camera would have used it, wouldn’t it?

I didn’t argue. I thought it was a slightly sad illustration of how we have come to rely on automation too much. If the computer says so, it must be true.

3 Responses to “It’s On Auto!”

  1. Gaeng Says:

    I agree. It is silly. My computer is always wrong. I blame her all the time.

  2. Toucanzoo Says:

    Some times I leave the camera in auto but most of the time I have it to the setting that I want (or at least I try)

    Auto often does not produce the results I am looking for.

  3. Car Gallery at Siam Paragon « Bkkphotographer's Blog Says:

    […] like me. A Japanese tourist asked me to take his photo next to the Boxster. But unlike my Victory Monument friend he was a perfectionist and asked me to take the photo again with […]

Leave a Reply

