Progress!

I have made good progress looking at the small two digit numbers on Thai truck and bus license plates and seeing how they correspond to the province. I introduced the problem here.

Thailand Truck License Plate

Thailand Truck License Plate

I have gone through several hundred pictures from my Lightroom database where the province code and the province name (in Thai characters) are visible. It does seem that the two digit code identifies the province (changwat), 01 = Bangkok for example. I have never seen more than one code for a province or a code used for more than one province. (It’s a 1-to-1 mapping in CS jargon.)

Here is that I have so far:

License Plate Name Thai Name
01 Bangkok กรุงเทพมหานคร
13 Ang Thong อ่างทอง
14 Saraburi สระบุรี
15 Ayutthaya พระนครศรีอยุธยา
16 Pathum Thani ปทุมธานี
17 Nonthaburi นนทบุรี
18 Samut Prakan สมุทรปราการ
21 Prachin Buri ปราจีนบุรี
22 Chachoengsao ฉะเชิงเทรา
23 Chon Buri ชลบุรี
24 Rayong ระยอง
25 Chanthaburi จันทบุรี
27 Sa Kaeo สระแก้ว
31 Yasothon ยโสธร
32 Ubon Ratchathani อุบลราชธานี
33 Si Sa Ket ศรีสะเกษ
34 Buri Ram บุรีรัมย์
35 Nakhon Ratchasima นครราชสีมา
36 Surin สุรินทร์
45 Khon Kaen ขอนแก่น
46 Kalasin กาฬสินธุ์
47 Maha Sarakham มหาสารคาม
60 Uttaradit อุตรดิตถ์
63 Phitsanulok พิษณุโลก
64 Kamphaeng Phet กำแพงเพชร
68 Uthai Thani อุทัยธานี
70 Suphanburi สุพรรณบุรี
72 Nakhon Pathom นครปฐม
73 Ratchaburi ราชบุรี
74 Samut Sakhon สมุทรสาคร
75 Samut Songkhram สมุทรสงคราม
License Plate Name Thai Name
1 Bangkok กรุงเทพมหานคร
13 Ang Thong อ่างทอง
14 Saraburi สระบุรี
15 Ayutthaya พระนครศรีอยุธยา
16 Pathum Thani ปทุมธานี
17 Nonthaburi นนทบุรี
18 Samut Prakan สมุทรปราการ
21 Prachin Buri ปราจีนบุรี
22 Chachoengsao ฉะเชิงเทรา
23 Chon Buri ชลบุรี
24 Rayong ระยอง
25 Chanthaburi จันทบุรี
27 Sa Kaeo สระแก้ว
31 Yasothon ยโสธร
32 Ubon Ratchathani อุบลราชธานี
33 Si Sa Ket ศรีสะเกษ
34 Buri Ram บุรีรัมย์
35 Nakhon Ratchasima นครราชสีมา
36 Surin สุรินทร์
45 Khon Kaen ขอนแก่น
46 Kalasin กาฬสินธุ์
47 Maha Sarakham มหาสารคาม
60 Uttaradit อุตรดิตถ์
63 Phitsanulok พิษณุโลก
64 Kamphaeng Phet กำแพงเพชร
68 Uthai Thani อุทัยธานี
70 Suphanburi สุพรรณบุรี
72 Nakhon Pathom นครปฐม
73 Ratchaburi ราชบุรี
74 Samut Sakhon สมุทรสาคร
75 Samut Songkhram สมุทรสงคราม

I have 32 out of 76 provinces – 42%. To find more sans travel I need to look at my older pictures in ThumbsPlus.

I added a Region field to my little Lightroom Vehicle Information Plugin so I can record the information in the database. I have done it in a general way so I can record the same data for license plates of other countries.

New Lightroom Region Code

New Lightroom Region Code

I want to learn how to “inject” these name-value pairs as typed Vehicle Tag keywords into pictures that I export as Jeff Friedl does for his Geocoding information:

veh:state=Thailand
veh:regnclass=Bus
veh:regn=10-7054
veh:fleettype=Transport Company
veh:fleetnumber=0579-0011
veh:region=35-Nakhon Ratchasima
Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Progress!”

  1. BKKPhotographer Says:

    I added one today: 61-Sukhothai.

  2. BKKPhotographer Says:

    And today, August 31st, I think I solved it. With a lot of help from a Thai Flickr friend who showed me a web site that, almost, gave me the answer.

    See http://bkkphotographer.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/solved-the-thai-code-list-i-think/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

